Located on the south side of Clew Bay, at the foot of Croagh Patrick, is the village of Murrisk, 8km west of Westport and 4km east of Lecanvey.
Murrisk is the starting-point for pilgrims who climb Croagh Patrick, and every year on the last Sunday of July, thousands of people converge on this little village to make the annual pilgrimage. Hoardes of other ardent climbers make the ascent of the mountain throughout the year, many of whom also visit the Croagh Patrick interpretative centre in the village.
An appealing, picturesque village, Murrisk was awarded the National Tidy Towns Waterside Award in 1999 and continues to rank highly in the competition year after year.
Ireland's National Famine Memorial, designed by Irish artist John Behan, is sited in Murrisk in the 5 acre Millennium Peace Park, overlooking the sea.
This bronze ship, with its skeletal figures symbolises the many people who died in the ‘coffin ships’, as they sailed hopelessly towards foreign shores.
Close to the National Famine Memorial are the ruins of Murrisk Abbey, a former Augustinian abbey, founded in the 1400’s by Pope Callistus 3. Some stone maintenance has been carried out to it in recent times and it is now under the supervision of the National Monuments Service.
Murrisk annual Pattern Day takes place on the last or second last Sunday in August every year. Commencing with Mass at Murrisk Abbey, the Pattern Day is a full programme of events for all ages including music and dancing, vintage show, sheep show and sheep dog trials, children’s entertainment, stalls with various home produce, arts and crafts etc. It is an